ABC of Wisconsin Announces Legislative Champions, Winners of ‘Building Wisconsin’ Awards

ABC wisconsin hard hat

[Madison, Wisc…] More than 40 state representatives and senators have been selected to receive the Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin’s “Building Wisconsin” award because of their dedication to free enterprise, open competition and the merit shop construction industry during the 2015-16 legislative session.


These legislators fought for ABC of Wisconsin members on multiple occasions during the last session, leading to numerous legislative victories. Their support of merit shop contractors is key to growing the construction industry and creating more jobs in the state. From policies that repealed burdensome regulations on small businesses to legislation that will bolster Wisconsin’s economy, each legislator played an integral role in making Wisconsin more competitive.

“It gives me great pride to recognize these 42 policymakers for their unwavering support of merit shop contractors,” said John Mielke, ABC of Wisconsin President. “The construction industry and Wisconsin’s economy will continue to move forward because of their efforts.”

During the past session, ABC of Wisconsin supported legislative proposals including a sales tax exemption pass-through that made it easier for contractors to purchase materials for non-profit clients; a streamlined process for commercial plan review; legislation making Wisconsin the 25th right-to-work state in the country; and significant reforms to the state’s prevailing wage law.

“From all of us at ABC of Wisconsin, I congratulate each legislator on their ‘Building Wisconsin’ award,” Mielke added.

2016 Building Wisconsin Award Winners:

Rep. Scott Allen of Waukesha
Rep. Tyler August of Lake Geneva
Rep. Joan Ballweg of Markesan
Rep. Mark Born of Beaver Dam
Rep. Janel Brandtjen of Menomonee Falls
Rep. Ed Brooks of Reedsburg
Rep. Robert Brooks of Saukville
Rep. Dave Craig of Big Bend
Rep. Mary Czaja of Irma
Rep. Bob Gannon of Slinger
Rep. Rob Hutton of Brookfield
Rep. Andre Jacque of De Pere
Rep. John Jagler of Watertown
Rep. Adam Jarchow of Balsam Lake
Rep. Terry Katsma of Oostburg
Rep. Joel Kitchens of Sturgeon Bay
Rep. Joel Kleefisch of Oconomowoc
Rep. Dan Knodl of Germantown
Rep. Dean Knudson of Hudson
Rep. Dale Kooyenga of Brookfield
Rep. Jesse Kremer of Kewaskum
Rep. Mike Kuglitsch of New Berlin
Rep. Bob Kulp of Stratford
Rep. Tom Larson of Colfax
Rep. John Macco of Ledgeview
Rep. Dave Murphy of Greenville
Rep. Adam Neylon of Pewaukee
Rep. Jim Ott of Mequon
Rep. Romaine Quinn of Rice Lake
Rep. Joe Sanfelippo of New Berlin
Rep. Michael Schraa of Oshkosh
Rep. Ken Skowronski of Franklin
Rep. Rob Swearigen of Rhinelander
Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt of Fond du Lac
Rep. Paul Tittl of Manitowoc
Rep. Tom Weatherston of Caledonia

Sen. Chris Kapenga of Delafield
Sen. Frank Lasee of De Pere
Sen. Devin LeMahieu of Oostburg
Sen. Terry Moulton of Chippewa Falls
Sen. Steve Nass of Whitewater
Sen. Duey Stroebel of Saukville
Sen. Leah Vukmir of Wauwatosa
Sen. Van Wanggaard of Racine

Associated Builders and Contractors is a national trade association, representing more than 21,000 merit shop contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers, manufacturers and construction-related professionals. With more than 800 members, the Wisconsin chapter is the largest in the country. ABC members support the merit shop philosophy which stresses open competition and the free enterprise system, and they believe the best construction projects are those Built On Merit.

To learn more about ABC of Wisconsin and the merit shop philosophy, visit

For Immediate Release
Contact: Nick Novak, 608-244-5883

Recommended Articles
Chapter News


Six Wisconsin members named to Top Performing Contractor List
Safety (articles and papers)


The importance of taking heart health seriously in the construction industry and steps that can be taken to minimize it.
Management (articles and papers)


Five rapidly growing types of financial fraud (and four quick and easy solutions)