Steve Klessig receives ABC of Wisconsin’s most prestigious award

PEWAUKEE, Jan. 27, 2022 — ABC of Wisconsin awarded its most prestigious award to Steve Klessig, Keller, Inc.  Klessig was presented with the Wes Meilahn Award just prior to the ABC of Wisconsin Projects of Distinction Awards ceremony on Jan. 27, when it was announced.


When he joined Keller 35 years ago, the company president told him he should get involved with ABC.

Having an interest in legislative advocacy, he volunteered to serve on the Legislative Committee and has always advocated for ABC issues and giving to PAC to elect pro-free enterprise candidates to political office. Over the years, his company has been active in Projects of Distinction and is a national STEP Safety Management Program participant.

Steve was nominated and elected to the Wisconsin Chapter Board of Directors in 2011, then he became Treasurer in 2012, Chair-elect and Board Chair in 2013 and 2014. He then served on the National Board as Regional Vice-Chair. Steve was subsequently elected, by his peers, as National Chair-elect and National Chair. A very proud moment. He just completed his role as national ABC chair, something only one other Wisconsin chapter member has done in our 50 year history.

“Members would agree with me that it would be hard to find another individual with more dedication to ABC and what we represent,” said John Mielke, president of ABC of Wisconsin. “Steve is serious about anything he’s committed to and he’s certainly committed to ABC.”

Jay Zahn (left) congratulates Steve Klessig for receiving the Wes Meilahn Award as Kyle Schwarm (right) looks on.
Jay Zahn (left) congratulates Steve Klessig for receiving the Wes Meilahn Award as Kyle Schwarm (right) looks on.

The Wes Meilahn Award, which is the chapter’s most prestigious and coveted individual recognition. Wes Meilahn was instrumental in the founding of ABC of Wisconsin in 1972 and became known for his dedication, love and service to ABC and merit construction. Wes Meilahn served as chair of the chapter in 1974 and the chapter leadership established the award after his passing in 1984. The honoree is selected each year by a committee of past Wes Meilahn Award honorees.

Recommended Articles
Chapter News


Six Wisconsin members named to Top Performing Contractor List
Chapter News


Bill Monfre presented with the Wes Meilahn Award
Chapter News


ABC of Wisconsin members recognized for 2023 safety performance